Tenpin Bowling: Belmonte wins 4th title of the 2022 PBA season


Australia’s Jason Belmonte continues his dominance of the Professional Bowlers Association tour, winning his fourth title of the season – THE STORM CUP: PBA Lubbock Sports Open in Lubbock, Texas.


Belmonte qualified in third position for the stepladder finals.

He went on to defeat Jesper Svenson 246-221 in the first match before surviving a 202-201 nail biter against Anthony Lavery-Spahr to reach the final.

The 2-handed wonder from Orange, New South Wales then faced archrival EJ Tackett in the championship match, which went down to the wire with Belmonte needing two strikes in the 10th frame to win.

But as he so often does in clutch moments, Belmonte again proved why he is regarded as arguably the greatest of all time, nailing those two strikes to edge out Tackett 253-245 to claim victory.

The win marks his 29th overall title, equalling Hall of Famer Mike Aulby in eighth position on the list of most PBA Tour titles in history, one behind Hall of Famer Dick Weber with 30. Belmonte and Aulby are also the only two players in history to complete the Super Slam of winning all five major championships.

Adding to his four titles in 2022, is a third-place finish at the US Open, a fourth-place finish at the PBA World Championship and a top 10 finish at the PBA Tournament of Champions. Belmonte’s dominance this season thus far, has him as clear favourite to win a record-equalling seventh PBA Player of the Year award.

He also sits comfortably on top of the 2022 PBA Playoffs points list.

As Belmonte continues to smash PBA records, he now turns his attention the final major of the season – the USBC Masters in Las Vegas, an event he has previously won on four occasions.  

Belmonte currently holds the record for most PBA major titles with 14.



Match 1 – No. 3 Belmonte def. No. 4 Svensson, 246-221
Match 2 – No. 3 Belmonte def. No. 2 Lavery-Spahr, 202-201
Match 3 – No. 3 Belmonte def. No. 1 Tackett, 253-245


  1. Jason Belmonte, $20,000
  2. EJ Tackett, $12,000
  3. Sean Lavery-Spahr, $7,000
  4. Jesper Svensson, $5,500

Feature photo: Courtesy of PBA.com